When Was The Last Time You took Time To Dream?

Dreams imageDo you remember the stories of how the Wright Brothers dreamt of putting a plane in the sky and how they celebrated their first flight which was less than 100 yards?  Now today we are putting planes into outer space travelling an unprecedented 28,000km an hour.   How about Roger Bannister who dreamt of achieving the impossible of running a four minute mile?  Roger had a dream that others laughed at but once achieved it was quickly surpassed.  Bill Gates had a dream of putting a computer on every desktop, a farfetched vision when you think about the fact that computers took up a small room at the time, now in my home alone we have five.  My point is dreams are the fuel that sets us on a journey for creating something brilliant.  So my question this month is, what are your dreams and what are you doing to make them come true?

Let’s agree that dreams are massive undertakings that are going to take all that you have in order to succeed.  If dreams were easy then they just wouldn’t be dreams!  Living your dreams is about letting yourself see a world of possibilities and letting go of all the old history that says you just can’t do that.  Dreams are there to inspire you to do great things.  Dreams are about evolutionary living.

So do only great people dream or do dreams actually make people great?  I personally believe that dreams don’t know how to discriminate against us yet we can often discriminate against living our dreams.  We convince ourselves that we don’t deserve a better outcome so why would we ever dare dream? 

Customer Testimonial
“Curt is simply brilliant and his message is brilliantly simple!” 

I remember taking my kids to see the “Bucket List” and then asking myself what dreams do I want to achieve?  The first thing on my list was to play on stage with my son’s band and if you heard me on the guitar you would know what a dream this will be!  But it’s that dream that still has me picking up my guitar and strumming out chords in preparation for the big day.  I also remember watching “Pay It Forward” and witnessing Trevor McKinney endeavouring to change the world by paying forward on acts of kindness.  What amazed me most was this was a dream that moved the world yet it was so simple to put into place.  My mission of “Simple thinking that changes lives” was inspired by this movie.  I also have to confess that I often get teary eyed watching Extreme Home Makeover because the thought of stepping into a stranger’s life and making a massive difference is undeniably a dream come true.

So what about living your dreams isn’t that what you should be doing?  I can hear you now… are you kidding?  Have you seen my bank account?  Do you know how much crap I have to do?  When in heck would I find the time and money to live my dreams?  Dreams belong to those who don’t live in my world.

The funny thing about dreams though is they really can pick us up often at times when we need it the most.  Think about it, when was the last time you read a “dream come true” story where the leading player had a perfect life?   Most dreams start from very humble beginnings.  The purpose of dreams is to give us the reason to believe in our future, especially when we have stopped believing in ourselves.

So this month give yourself the gift of dreaming.  Pick a future that you deserve and start creating a path to make it a reality.  The more we dream the less opportunity we have to think about all the things that could possibly get in our way!

Here’s to you and all your dreams!

Looking for a Great Keynote for your next event?
Curt Skene delivers over 75 rapid-fire insights on how to find more business and create more opportunity in his fun and informative keynote “Master  The Marketplace!” Visit www.curtskene.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “When Was The Last Time You took Time To Dream?”

  1. Michelle Romanica Says:

    Your post is unbelievably timely! I am not one that even had dreams much less live them out in my life, until this past year when I decided to go into business for myself. Although I had clarity around my passion, I haven’t had clarity around the business and my offerings. I have not understood why I was having so much trouble with this until this weekend.
    Curt, you are soooooo right about ” Living your dreams is about letting yourself see a world of possibilities and letting go of all the old history that says you just can’t do that.” These are words of a sage and so many of us have heard them and agree with them and yet remain stuck.
    I have been doing serious self development work for about 15 yrs now and I understood all of this in my head but not my heart, until this weekend.
    I just completed a weekend program that got this message across to me experientially. For the first time ever, I got it! I discovered programs I wasn’t even aware of that I was playing to stop myself at every step of the way. I also discovered the power of these programs was beyond my own belief.
    I attended a Brian Klemmer Personal Mastery weekend. I now have confidence and hope that with a lot of work and persistence, I will achieve my dream.
    You’re a very wise man, Curt. You’re someone well worth listening too!
    Warm regards,
    Michelle Romanica

    Like

  2. Maxine Wiedel Says:

    Curt, great article! You have truly captured the essential essence of having a dream, and the need to follow it.

    Well done, and thanks for sharing your wisdom!

    Maxine

    Like

Leave a Reply

